Let’s Talk Book Covers: Water

I have an obsession with book covers because they can be so captivating, and yes I do sometimes judge books based on the cover. It’s okay, you can admit it too. My hope for this series is so you can not only see the gorgeous art of these book covers, but to help add more books to your TBR collection.

I have already shared the full rainbow, so now I’m going to move into an assortment of themes. Each week will be a new theme so it’s a surprise! I hope you find something new to add to your TBR stack.

If you missed my other features in this series, toggle below to Let’s Talk Book Covers:

My favorite is my feature of dogs! Make sure to check it out.


Water

Venturing into the depths or at peace riding the waves… Water can represent life or quite the opposite—chaos.


Click the titles to preview and order from my BookShop to support local!

TitleAuthor/IllustratorDate Published
The Season of Styx MaloneKekla Magoon/Vanessa Brantley-Newton10/16/2018
Summer and JulyPaul Mosier6/9/2020
Flying Over WaterShannon Hitchcock & N.H. Senzai10/20/2020
On the HorizonLois Lowry/Kenard Pak4/7/2020
Mary UnderwaterShannon Doleski/Hana Anouk Nakamura4/7/2020
The Line TenderKate Allen/Jessica Jenkins4/16/2019
Breathing UnderwaterSarah Allen/Alisa Coburn3/30/2021
You Go FirstErin Entrada Kelly/Sylvie Le Floc’h4/9/2019
Taylor Before and AfterJennie Englund2/18/2020
Caterpillar SummerGillian McDunn/Alisa Coburn4/2/2019
The Friendship LieRebecca Donnelly/Ramona Kaulitzki8/1/2019
A Swirl of OceanMelissa Sarno/Leo Nickolls8/6/2019
When Life Gives You Mangos
*my review*
Kereen Getten/Becky Glendining9/15/2020
What If a FishAnika Fajardo/Paola Escobar & Lizzy Bromley (design)8/11/2020
I do my best to find illustrators, but I may not find every book. If you know of the illustrator, please let me know and I will happily credit them!

I hope this theme makes you explore outside this weekend. Which is your favorite cover featured above? Do you have a favorite middle grade book that features this theme? Share with me below!

Xo, Sierra

One thought on “Let’s Talk Book Covers: Water

Add yours

  1. These are wonderful covers! I love the ones for Summer and July, On the Horizon, When Life Gives You Mangos, and What If a Fish. Thanks for the great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Book Craic

Children’s book reviews

The Caffeinated Granola Girl

Coffee & Nature- what more do you need?

Bit About Books

Two friends passionate about libraries, reading, and children's lit

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

5th in the Middle: Book reviews for teachers and students

Middle grade literature reviews and Ideas for teaching--I'll share with you and you share with me

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started