It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [10.18.21]

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? originated as a meme that started by Shelia at Book Journeys, then it passed onto Kathryn at The Book Date. Then the Unleashing Readers, Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee decided to give it a twist by having a #kidlit focus. So this is a time to share what you have been, currently are, and will be reading soon!

If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, early readers, chapter books, middle grade, young adult, or anything in those genres – then join us! This is also a great opportunity to see what others are reading and you might find your next “must-read” too!

If you join in the fun and you Tweet, tag your tweet with #imwayr!


Woo! This past week was crazy busy, but I’ve got some exciting news to share with you in two weeks. So while you wait, let me just share some great reads with you all. I’m still on my mystery/thriller kick, but I did enjoy several audiobooks too.

Hope you all have a spooktacular week of reading!


  • New Kid (#1) by Jerry Craft
    • It took me quite some time to read this award-winning book, but I am so glad I did. At our latest KidLit & Coffee chat we were talking about the terrible banning that is happening with so many amazing books. New Kid was brought up and I recently checked it out at my public library, so I went home that evening and read it from cover to cover. Kids NEED this book in their lives and I don’t see why it should be banned whatsoever. I had to listen to the second book soon, too.
  • Class Act (#2) by Jerry Craft
    • Thanks to Libro.fm for the free ALC of Class Act. This is what I listened to on my commute to-and-from work this past week and it was just as brilliant as the first. The audio narration was incredible since there were multiple narrators for the different characters and a great use of sound effects/background music as you listened. Highly recommend the audio while reading through the physical book, too.
  • Rock Paper Scissors by Alice Feeney
    • I wrote a shelf talker on this book at Main Street Books during my shift on Saturday and within 10 minutes I sold it to a lady who said she was in a reading slump and needed a mystery/thriller to pull her out during her slow times at her hospital shift. My blurb said, “Sierra loves this book because dual narratives, interwoven secret letters, and complicated marriages gives the perfect amount of thrill. The ending leaves you in shock too!”
  • How to Train Your Dad by Gary Paulsen
    • This was a humorous #mglit story with an eclectic cast of characters. There are not many middle grade books that feature trailer life living and all the quirks of reusing a mix of old and new to make items in need/desired, too. The cover is perfect too–the facial expressions, objects, and pup (aka Carol). RIP Gary Paulsen.
  • Hardly Haunted by Jessie Sima
    • What an adorable picture book that is especially perfect for this time of year! I purchased a copy after my shift at Main Street Books because I knew it would be a great read for #classroombookaday this week or next week when we switch from fall/autumnal reads to #spookyreads. The illustrations are purr-fect and the ending was too cute.


Shop the books above and support me and local Indies:


Have you ever read any of these books? Share with me what you are reading below!

Xo, Sierra

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [10.18.21]

Add yours

  1. Will see if my library has Hardly Haunted & I just got How to Train Your Dad, loved his memoir, too. It is sad to say goodbye to Gary Paulsen! Thanks, Sierra!

    Like

  2. Sierra, I look forward to hearing your exciting news in two weeks! And these books look awesome—New Kid and Class Act are both excellent reads, and I imagine Class Act would be quite intriguing as an audiobook! Rock Paper Scissors sounds very thrilling, and I love that you sold it to a customer at the bookstore! I haven’t read any Gary Paulsen books except Lawn Boy many years ago, but this one sounds like a great read—and I was sad to hear of his passing. And Hardly Haunted looks adorable as well! Thanks so much for the wonderful post!

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Book Craic

Children’s book reviews

The Caffeinated Granola Girl

Coffee & Nature- what more do you need?

Bit About Books

Two friends passionate about libraries, reading, and children's lit

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

5th in the Middle: Book reviews for teachers and students

Middle grade literature reviews and Ideas for teaching--I'll share with you and you share with me

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started