It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [9.27.21]

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? originated as a meme that started by Shelia at Book Journeys, then it passed onto Kathryn at The Book Date. Then the Unleashing Readers, Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee decided to give it a twist by having a #kidlit focus. So this is a time to share what you have been, currently are, and will be reading soon!

If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, early readers, chapter books, middle grade, young adult, or anything in those genres – then join us! This is also a great opportunity to see what others are reading and you might find your next “must-read” too!

If you join in the fun and you Tweet, tag your tweet with #imwayr!


Thankful that it is fall but praying for more fall-like weather here in good ole’ Misery aka Missouri. I was able to go on a few walks with my dogs at the park and in the neighborhood. It’s supposed to be highs of 90-something again this week though…

On Friday I learned that one of my students tested positive for COVID so 12 of my 22 had to go home to quarantine for the next week or so. This week I am teaching 10 students so I’ll be modifying my instruction and pulling small groups to reteach and extend. It’ll be interesting! I hope all my students are okay and healthy.

I hope you all have a great last week of September and happy reading!


  • Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh
    • I’m late on this train, but I am so glad I read this book! Paranormal, haunted houses, evil spirits, ghost hunting, you name it–is definitely my thing. If it is yours, you will love this spooky series. I loved the down-right evilness this book had. A possessed 4-year-old, the main character has flashbacks of when she was in a psychiatric hospital, and the diary entries at the end of each chapter that reveal more and more about the main character’s thoughts and memories was fascinating.
  • Pony by R.J. Palacio
    • It has been such a long time since I have listened to an audiobook. My coworker inspired me as she told everyone at one of our KidLit & Coffee meetings that she does audiobooks now as a new mama. So, I chose one of the few I downloaded from Libro.fm and was so blown away by Palacio’s newest story Pony. It was so unique and quite different from Wonder so do not compare the two, but the writing is yet again outstanding. I truly loved the narrator, Ian M. Hawkins, and felt that he really captured the characters and made the story so much more intriguing too. This is an adventure story about a boy on a quest to rescue his father from who-knows-what danger, his ghostly companion, and the connection he makes to a pony.
  • Shy Willow by Cat Min
    • An adorable and beautifully-illustrated picture book about shy Willow who lives in a mailbox, but who sends mail anymore? Well, one day a letter fell from the mail slot and Willow read about a little boy’s wish that he wanted the Moon to grant. Willow built up courage to venture into the world and somehow get this letter to the Moon. A lovely story about selflessness, determination, and empathy.


Shop the books above and support me and local Indies:


Have you ever read any of these books? Share with me what you are reading below!

Xo, Sierra

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [9.27.21]

Add yours

  1. Spirit Hunters sound just right for October, Sierra. And Pony is certainly on my list, plus thanks for Shy Willow which sounds like an interesting premise. Hope it cools off for you; it’s hot here in Denver, too! Have a great week!

    Like

  2. I am also really looking forward to Pony, I pre-ordered it. I appreciated what you wrote about not comparing it to Wonder. I really enjoyed Spirit Hunters too. I read and enjoyed Searching for Lottie by Susan Hood. It pulled a story that would help readers learn about the Holocaust into a modern setting. I will need to check out what you thought of this newer book next week. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. I am so sorry that COVID is an issue in your class—I hope the quarantining of your students isn’t too chaotic and your week short on kids goes OK! Seriously, you’re very brave running a classroom during all of this, so give yourself a pat on the back (I keep saying that in people’s comments, but we need to give ourselves some more credit when we do awesome things!).

    Book-wise, Pony sounds fantastic—I honestly didn’t think R. J. Palacio would ever write another book unrelated to Wonder, so I am glad to be proven wrong and may need to cram it in! And Shy Willow sounds SO GOOD—shyness and great illustrations?! Yes please. And my library has it on Hoopla—it’s a miracle! Thanks so much for the great post!

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Book Craic

Children’s book reviews

The Caffeinated Granola Girl

Coffee & Nature- what more do you need?

Bit About Books

Two friends passionate about libraries, reading, and children's lit

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

5th in the Middle: Book reviews for teachers and students

Middle grade literature reviews and Ideas for teaching--I'll share with you and you share with me

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started