It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [9.20.21]

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? originated as a meme that started by Shelia at Book Journeys, then it passed onto Kathryn at The Book Date. Then the Unleashing Readers, Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee decided to give it a twist by having a #kidlit focus. So this is a time to share what you have been, currently are, and will be reading soon!

If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, early readers, chapter books, middle grade, young adult, or anything in those genres – then join us! This is also a great opportunity to see what others are reading and you might find your next “must-read” too!

If you join in the fun and you Tweet, tag your tweet with #imwayr!


Was it me or did last week feel like the longest week in a LONG time? It was jam-packed with meetings, errands, and just long drawn out days. I am hopeful that this week will feel a bit better and I am really excited that on Tuesday it will start to cool down for a few days at least. I need fall so so bad. It is my favorite time of the year! I am getting on my spooky kick again so you will be seeing a lot of #spookylit and #thrillers from me for awhile.

Here’s to a great week of reading!


  • One Kid’s Trash by Jamie Sumner
    • Yet another FANTASTIC read by Jamie Sumner. Her previous book, Tune It Out, was so special. In One Kid’s Trash, I adored Hugo and his small, but mighty heart. The characters were unique and such middle schoolers. You had the typical bully and his followers, plus little cliques. “Garbology” is a fun and intriguing study so I’m glad to have learned about it through this book, too. I never thought about how your trash can tell a lot about who you are and what you value. This book released at the end of August! Thankful to have read it with #BookAllies.
  • Mine by Delilah S. Dawson
    • I loved the set up of this story—a forced move from CO to hot and sunny FL, a theater loving MC, parents that are over their “dramatic” daughter, and now something haunted lurking in their new FL house near an eerie swamp, a lake called “Lake Silence”, and green and black sludge in the least expected places. So many unsettling moments happen throughout the book and the MC Lily tries to get help from her parents but they won’t believe her one bit. You feel for her yet can see both sides of her drama-loving-personality. Can’t wait to share this one with #spookylit lovers! I recommend for 5th grade and up due to some dark tones throughout.
  • So You Want to Build a Library by Lindsay Leslie and illustrated by Aviel Basil
    • Another amazing picture book that focuses on the love of libraries and books! The humor embedded throughout with the perfect illustrations will sure make students laugh and giggle. A great discussion can be had on the importance of libraries and if they could build a library what would it look like? I could see making out own library blueprints or models could stem from this read aloud.


Shop the books above and support me and local Indies:


Have you ever read any of these books? Share with me what you are reading below!

Xo, Sierra

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr [9.20.21]

Add yours

  1. Yes for cooler weather! I love the idea of One Kid’s Trash. My students did a long study of their own trash, so I’m really intrigued by your review, Sierra. And Mine does sound very spooky! Have a nice ‘fast’ week this week!

    Like

  2. I’m sorry your week felt so long last week—I hope things are calmer this week! And I’m so glad you enjoy fall—I can start looking forward to Thanksgiving again soon (it’s my favorite holiday!). All of these books sound fantastic—I’ve heard good things about One Kid’s Trash in particular. So You Want to Build a Library sounds great as well. Thanks so much for the great post!

    Like

  3. Some new to me books here that I hope to be able to check out soon. I remember really enjoying Spirit Hunters, so I hope you like that one. I never did read the sequel though, and I own it, so that is bad on my part. I think if I get more kids reading the first book this year at school, I might give it a go. Thanks for the shares, hope you enjoy your new grade this year.

    Like

  4. Fall is my favourite time of year as well. We say the world falls into golden. It’s just beginning here. I really enjoyed Spirit Hunters, although I am not generally a fan of Scary stories. I still need to read the sequel, The Island of Monsters.
    Hope your next week goes smoother and faster.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Book Craic

Children’s book reviews

The Caffeinated Granola Girl

Coffee & Nature- what more do you need?

Bit About Books

Two friends passionate about libraries, reading, and children's lit

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

5th in the Middle: Book reviews for teachers and students

Middle grade literature reviews and Ideas for teaching--I'll share with you and you share with me

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started